And time is running. I hear the voice, Find your niche!!

I love writing stories and letters to myself, so Citra Olivia (my good friend, I must emphasise) was once interrogated by our high school head teacher about why she wrote herself letters that seemed like love letters.

Well I am reminded of one of the greatest African writers, Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o, quoting… “……..Ngugi lives in a block alongside other political prisoners, but he refuses to give in to the humiliation. He decides to write a novel in secret, on toilet paper—it is a book that will become his classic, Devil on the Cross.”

So I am at The Standard, the Uganda Christian University Community newspaper newsroom, but there is one thing on my mind.

The voice is telling me, “Time is running. I hear the voice again. Find your niche!!” So I sat on the couch and grabbed a laptop, the next thing was to re-think the situation I was in.

I know most people don’t like facing reality, but the truth is that you can’t avoid it, when reality hits, it hits indeed!

In December I was reading this book; it’s quite funny by the title, authored by Mark Mason

The more something threatens your identity, the more you will avoid it. In my life, I have given a f'”ck about many people and many things. I have also not given a f*ck about many people and many things. And like the road not taken, it was the f*cks not given that made all the difference.”

Mark Manson, The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck: A Counterintuitive Approach to Living a Good Life

So there is an extent to which you are multi-skilled and more confused about your niche; I am not bragging about knowing how to shout on a podcast or tweet, tweets with little or no eyeballs on them.

I am talking to 1,000 youths out there who are confused about what to do if they have anything to do. Are you living in self-denial? confused about whether you know anything but confident that tomorrow will be a brighter day?

Well, the niche is the industry in which you work with your particular skill.

For example, if you are a Shopify developer, it is your skill, and you are providing development services for only baby products. Then baby products in your niche

The first step to identifying the right niche involves determining your interests and abilities. Consider what you enjoy doing when you’re not working or if you prefer to earn income from your hobbies. For example, if you already enjoy writing, you may identify a niche within the writing industry.

For instance, if I love IT and I have found a niche in writing blog websites, you might hire me to design one for you.

I love editing audio, and I have found a niche in podcasting. I can create and publish it for you.

You will have to do some self-reflection; this is not to motivate you and don’t read self-help books!

WHATTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT DO YOU LOVE DOING???


Discover more from MICHAEL AINOMUGISHA

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Published by Michael Ainomugisha

Founder & Host of THE MICHAEL AINOMUGISHA PODCASTS, Journalism & Communication, Columnist, The Stadia Team Lead, Innovations | Sports | Wellness

2 thoughts on “And time is running. I hear the voice, Find your niche!!

Leave a comment

Discover more from MICHAEL AINOMUGISHA

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started