“I hate politics”

2019 landed me on to a heavy slap, not a slap from an open palm, a slap that would make me hate politics for the rest of my life maybe! I hate politics….

Denying me an opportunity was a good thing

But not telling me the reason why so, wasn’t! That was a slap on my political muscle.

For Aristotle, politics was the “master science” on which all branches of human activity depended.

But I guess, I hate politics, I believe this resonates with many of you, a profound distaste for politics.

This aversion is not born out of ignorance or a lack of civic duty, but rather from the disillusionment that comes with the discordance of political discourse that seems to spread throughout every aspect of our lives.

Make a simple marathon with your mind, how your politician acquaintance, how they behaved before and after becoming politicians.

Politics, in its ideal form, is the art of governing and should be a noble pursuit aimed at improving the lives of citizens.

However, it has increasingly become a theatre of the absurd, where the quest for power overshadows the genuine needs of the people.

The relentless barrage of political manoeuvres, partisan bickering, and the pursuit of agendas that often do not align with public welfare have left many of us jaded.

Maybe if I am to borrow a line from Henry Barlow’s “Building the nation” 

We both suffer from ulcers but in a different manner “the voter and the voted.”

The beauty of our nation’s landscapes, the richness of our cultures, and the daily triumphs of our people are often overshadowed by the dark cloud of political squabbles.

It is disheartening to see that instead of being a force for unity and progress, politics has often become a divisive wedge, driving a schism through the heart of our communities.

Politics, politics you are indeed a master art| Courtesy Image

500M this, 1 billion that, It’s all absurd.

I yearn for the day when politics will return to its roots when the welfare of the nation and its people will take precedence over personal gain. Until then, I find myself turning away from the political arena, not out of apathy, but out of a desire to preserve my hope for a brighter future for our beloved country.

Michael Ainomugisha


Discover more from MICHAEL AINOMUGISHA

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Published by Michael Ainomugisha

Founder & Host of THE MICHAEL AINOMUGISHA PODCASTS, Journalism & Communication, Columnist, The Stadia Team Lead, Innovations | Sports | Wellness

Leave a comment

Discover more from MICHAEL AINOMUGISHA

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started